Show mobile menu
Show search control
Show search control
Search Site

Political control and composition

High Peak Borough Council has 43 councillors elected in 28 wards.  Elections are held every 4 years for all 43 seats.  The next election is due in May 2019.

The Council is controlled by a Conservative administration led by Councillor Tony Ashton.

The political composition of the council is given in the table below:

Political GroupGroup leaderNumber of Councillors
ConservativeCllr Tony Ashton23
LabourCllr Anthony Mckeown17
Liberal Democrat and Independent AllianceCllr David Lomax3