Toggle Mobile Menu Visibility
Toggle Search Controls Visibility
Toggle search control visibility
Search Site

The Executive

The Executive is our main decision making group, responsible for implementing the Council's policies and budget.  Executive meetings normally take place approximately every other month, depending on business requirements. 

View the corporate plan and minutes from the meeting where it was agreed online.

The Executive is made up of the following Members with different responsibilities:

The Leader - Councillor Anthony Mckeown


  • Overall strategy and delivery of agreed Council priorities and objectives, including the formulation and / or preparation of plans or strategies for consideration by Council, such as the Asset Management Plan, Community Strategy, High Peak Plan.
  • Strategic alliance with Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
  • Oversight of all Executive portfolio responsibilities.
  • Appointments to outside bodies where they relate to Executive functions
  • Representing the interests of the Council to and building and developing relationships with partners at all levels to pursue matters of interest to the Council and the community.
  • Communication including social media and the Councils website
  • Community and wider engagement with the Council including VCSE Sector and community grants
  • Emergency Planning
  • Customer Services
  • Freedom of Information
  • Assets
  • Arts and Culture
  • Governance and Democracy including the Constitution
  • UK Shared Prosperity Fund

Deputy Leader & Regeneration, Tourism and Leisure - Councillor Damien Greenhalgh


  • The formulation or preparation of plans or strategies for consideration by Council, such as the Growth and Regeneration Strategy, Tourism Strategy, Parks Strategy and Leisure Strategy.
  • Economic Development and Growth
  • Rural Economy
  • Visitor Economy and Tourism
  • Urban regeneration and Town centres revitalisation
  • Future High Street Fund programme
  • Glossop Halls
  • Markets
  • Public Toilets
  • Car Parking Strategy
  • Local Strategic Partnerships
  • Leisure Transformation and Delivery
  • Move More High Peak including sports promotion
  • Parks and playgrounds (including ground maintenance)  
  • Pavilion Gardens Complex
  • Councillor development
  • LGBTQ+ / Equalities (External)

Housing and Licensing - Councillor Fiona Sloman


  • The formulation or preparation of the Housing Strategy and Allocations Policy
  • Children and young people
  • Housing
  • Homelessness
  • Tenant engagement and participation
  • Older people
  • Private Sector Housing
  • Public Health
  • Road safety including highway amenity and winter maintenance
  • Street naming
  • Licensing (public entertainments, taxi and private hire, including fares, fees and ranks, theatres, etc)

Climate Change and Environment - Councillor Jean Todd


  • Implementation and further development of the Climate Change Strategy
  • Development and implementation of a biodiversity strategy
  • Environmental protection, prosecutions and enforcement
  • Refuse and recycling
  • Streetcare and grounds maintenance (excluding parks)
  • Recycling Strategy
  • Environmental campaigns including litter, plastics and energy reduction

Corporate Services and Finance - Councillor Alan Barrow


  • The formulation or preparation of: Budget and Medium Term Financial Plan - (including Housing Revenue Account), Treasury Management Strategy and Capital Programme
  • Equality and Diversity (Internal)
  • Human Resource and Organisational Development Strategy
  • Efficiency / transformation programme
  • Business continuity planning
  • Employee Code of Conduct matters
  • Health and safety
  • Performance management
  • Risk management
  • Staff relations
  • Housing Benefit and Council Tax

Community Safety and Planning - Councillor Godfrey Claff


  • The formation and preparation of the Local Plan and Community safety partnership strategy
  • Community Safety and safeguarding, including representation at the Police and Crime Panel.
  • Planning policy
  • Design
  • Building control
  • Development control
  • Planning enforcement
  • Heritage Conservation

Assistant Executive Members:

  • Councillor Matt Taylor
  • Councillor Rob Baker